Testimonials

We love weddings and work hard to ensure our clients are happy! Here's what a few clients have had to say:

Tiffany - May 2017
My husband and I just got married this past weekend at the Sonesta and it couldn't have been more perfect! I've been in contact with the wedding planner Kristen Kobane from the Sonesta for almost a year and a half and she has been beyond amazing with everything. We are from Ohio so I was very stressed because I wasn't here to prepare for this special day myself... It was all thru emails and phone calls but she instantly replied to all of my questions and concerns in probably more than 500 emails lol. The staff was excellent, the food was excellent, the setting.... Just everything. It was just an amazing day from start to finish. I couldn't be happier with Kristen and the Sonesta and I would absolutely refer it to anyone. We can't thank you enough!!! Mr and Mrs Larry & Tiffany Chilson Kensington, Ohio 

 

Craig - May 2017
We highly recommend Sonesta Resort as the ideal wedding venue. The resort has the perfect location by the beach, an absolutely professional, personable, detailed and flexible wedding specialist, and a fabulous chef. Additionally, the wedding specialist/resort has relationships with key vendors who all work seamlessly together. At the end of wedding, EVERY guest commented how it was one of the best weddings they had attended and loved the venue. Our daughter thought it was the fairy tale wedding she had dreamed of for years. Disappointed with other venues, on a whim we arrived at Sonesta unannounced and unexpected on October 30, 2015. From the second our daughter walked into the expansive lobby of the Sonesta Resort, she had her WOW moment. Without an appointment, the resort Wedding Specialist, Theresa Anthony, welcomed us like we were old friends. Theresa worked closely with us over 18 months. She constantly took the weight of the event off our shoulders and eased our anxiety. She was an extremely good listener and seasoned expert providing excellent advice when needed. For the taste testing, we were served by the Chef and his staff. The food was five star quality and raved upon by all guests on the wedding day. On the wedding day, Theresa ensured the pavilion was set-up beautifully and on time coordinating with the vendors and resort staff. Unfortunately, it rained all morning preventing set-up on the beach. Theresa calmly presented us various options. We decided to move the ceremony to the pavilion. The Sonesta staff accommodated the change with a beautiful layout. The point being that unexpected things will happen and Theresa along with the Sonesta staff proved they have the experience, demeanor, talent and flexibility to adjust to unexpected issues to still provide the dream wedding. We highly recommend you call and visit the Sonesta Resort if you are considering a beach venue in the Southeast. 

 

Christine - May 2017
From the moment I sent the initial email checking availability for our date, which my Daughter was not flexible on, our experience with the Sonesta was AMAZING. I would not have been able to get through any of it without Kristen Kilbane. She guided and advised EVERY STEP of the way and worked with us to accommodate our schedules since we were traveling in from out of town to see the Venue, have the food testing, review final details. She was VERY responsive when I had questions, and I had a lot of questions!! The Staff at the Sonesta could not have been nicer to us on EVERY visit, and we visited often. We stop in while we were in Town and have lunch at Heyward's. When we saw those same staff members the week of our Wedding, they remembered us! Some of our guests that traveled from all over the Country stayed at the Resort and enjoyed all of the amenities that the Sonesta has to offer. The Beach Pavilion is an incredible Venue and was exactly what we had envisioned for our Daughter's Wedding. Josh Lynch of Crush Entertainment transformed the space with lighting, fabric, and a crystal chandelier that made you feel like you were in the middle of a fairy tale. It was just PERFECT, there is not one single thing I would change. We had an After Party in the Savannah Room at the Sonesta and I am so glad that we did because the night went by so quickly, we just did not want it to end and knowing we still had 3 more hours was incredible!!! I only have one Daughter, but I have a Son....Just wish I could plan another event at the Sonesta...I would not look anywhere else on Hilton Head Island to hold a special event!! 

 

Stephanie - November 2015 
Highly recommend We changed to the Sonesta after the hurricane. Theresa went above and beyond to transfer over the event. She worked with the kitchens and staff and re-create (and improve!) the event from the original hotel. The location was beautiful, the food was delicious and the service was excellent. I think it turned out even better than it would have at the first venue. Theresa made the planning easy and stress free despite changing the venue a month before the wedding. She also transferred over all of our guest details so they wouldn’t have to make a new reservation. Absolutely excellent, and would highly recommend

 

Annabel - October 2016 
The sonesta was the perfect venue for our wedding and wedding rehearsal dinner. Theresa Anthony is lovely and responsive and made the wedding planning process easy! We did not have a planner, nor did we need one thanks to Theresa. The pavilion was a beautiful location for our reception, and it was a blast! The sonesta was flexible and we were able to turn our wedding vision into reality.

 

Jaime said... 
The Sonesta has such a special place in my heart. It was the venue of my dreams, and my wedding day was literally the most magical day of my life. My husband and I were actually a Hurricane Matthew couple--we were supposed to originally get married back in October 2016 at a completely different venue in Hilton Head! I almost think the hurricane was doing us a favor, because after we had to cancel, I had the opportunity to switch to the Sonesta (which had been my dream venue since Day 1, but had been unavailable for our October date). The other venue had left me feeling disappointed throughout the entire process, so when we made the decision to switch to the Sonesta, it was like a breath of fresh air. We worked with Kristen, who is extremely professional, kind, and efficient. She responded to emails promptly, and was there for us all throughout the rehearsal and wedding day process. She made everything flow smoothly, and we're very thankful for her help and assistance throughout the months! The Sonesta is literally one of the most beautiful resorts I've been to. The grounds are stunningly gorgeous! We had both our ceremony and reception in the Pavilion, and the entire layout, setup, and lighting is downright dreamy. It was perfect weather on our wedding day, but even if it hadn't, it's still covered so you wouldn't ever have to worry about rain putting a damper on the day. The food and staff were top notch as well! My guests still can't stop raving about how beautiful and perfect everything was. I don't see how any other wedding venue in Hilton Head could even compare to the Sonesta--it's one of a kind, and will hands down be the most beautiful location you can get for a dream wedding!

 

Tiffany said... 
My husband and I just got married this past weekend at the Sonesta and it couldn't have been more perfect! I've been in contact with the wedding planner Kristen Kibane from the Sonesta for almost a year and a half and she has been beyond amazing with everything. We are from Ohio so I was very stressed because I wasn't here to prepare for this special day myself... It was all thru emails and phone calls but she instantly replied to all of my questions and concerns in probably more than 500 emails lol. The staff was excellent, the food was excellent, the setting.... Just everything. It was just an amazing day from start to finish. I couldn't be happier with Kristen and the Sonesta and I would absolutely refer it to anyone. We can't thank you enough!!! Mr and Mrs Larry & Tiffany Chilson Kensington, Ohio Married 5.20.17

 

Craig said... 
We highly recommend Sonesta Resort as the ideal wedding venue. The resort has the perfect location by the beach, an absolutely professional, personable, detailed and flexible wedding specialist, and a fabulous chef. Additionally, the wedding specialist/resort has relationships with key vendors who all work seamlessly together. At the end of wedding, EVERY guest commented how it was one of the best weddings they had attended and loved the venue. Our daughter thought it was the fairy tale wedding she had dreamed of for years. Disappointed with other venues, on a whim we arrived at Sonesta unannounced and unexpected on October 30, 2015. From the second our daughter walked into the expansive lobby of the Sonesta Resort, she had her WOW moment. Without an appointment, the resort Wedding Specialist, Theresa Anthony, welcomed us like we were old friends. Theresa worked closely with us over 18 months. She constantly took the weight of the event off our shoulders and eased our anxiety. She was an extremely good listener and seasoned expert providing excellent advice when needed. For the taste testing, we were served by the Chef and his staff. The food was five star quality and raved upon by all guests on the wedding day. On the wedding day, Theresa ensured the pavilion was set-up beautifully and on time coordinating with the vendors and resort staff. Unfortunately, it rained all morning preventing set-up on the beach. Theresa calmly presented us various options. We decided to move the ceremony to the pavilion. The Sonesta staff accommodated the change with a beautiful layout. The point being that unexpected things will happen and Theresa along with the Sonesta staff proved they have the experience, demeanor, talent and flexibility to adjust to unexpected issues to still provide the dream wedding. We highly recommend you call and visit the Sonesta Resort if you are considering a beach venue in the Southeast.

 

Christine said... 
From the moment I sent the initial email checking availability for our date, which my Daughter was not flexible on, our experience with the Sonesta was AMAZING. I would not have been able to get through any of it without Kristen Kilbane. She guided and advised EVERY STEP of the way and worked with us to accommodate our schedules since we were traveling in from out of town to see the Venue, have the food testing, review final details. She was VERY responsive when I had questions, and I had a lot of questions!! The Staff at the Sonesta could not have been nicer to us on EVERY visit, and we visited often. We stop in while we were in Town and have lunch at Heyward's. When we saw those same staff members the week of our Wedding, they remembered us! Some of our guests that traveled from all over the Country stayed at the Resort and enjoyed all of the amenities that the Sonesta has to offer. The Beach Pavilion is an incredible Venue and was exactly what we had envisioned for our Daughter's Wedding. Josh Lynch of Crush Entertainment transformed the space with lighting, fabric, and a crystal chandelier that made you feel like you were in the middle of a fairy tale. It was just PERFECT, there is not one single thing I would change. We had an After Party in the Savannah Room at the Sonesta and I am so glad that we did because the night went by so quickly, we just did not want it to end and knowing we still had 3 more hours was incredible!!! I only have one Daughter, but I have a Son....Just wish I could plan another event at the Sonesta...I would not look anywhere else on Hilton Head Island to hold a special event!!

 

Tammy said... 
If you are looking for the perfect venue for your destination wedding, we strongly suggest the Sonesta Resort in Hilton Head. The facility is gorgeous, the staff is super responsive, and the food is incredible. We brought our family from upstate New York, Chicago, and Charlotte to attend the wedding. Kristen Kilbane, our wedding planner, did an amazing job not only planning our perfect wedding, but making sure every detail was covered on our wedding day. I can’t wait to go back and celebrate our anniversary with the entire crew. Thank you so very much for all you did.

 

Alison said... 
We had our wedding at the Sonesta last weekend. The resort really made our wedding weekend very special. Everyone on the staff was very friendly. We worked with Kristen Kilbane and she was amazing! We had never been to the Sonesta so we pretty much planned everything through email and phone calls. Kristen was always very responsive and answered any questions we had. She really made sure our weekend went smoothly and helped to make it as stress free as possible. I would definitely recommend having your wedding at the Sonesta.

 

Becky said... 
Words cannot describe how absolutely wonderful our wedding was at Sonesta Resort. The friendly staff, scrumptious food, flawless service and stunning venue were out of this world. You cannot pick a more stunning setting and location on the water. My husband and I were blown away by how smoothly the weekend went between our rehearsal dinner, ceremony and reception. Like many other reviewers mention, Theresa Anthony is an absolute gem. She is incredibly responsive, professional, organized, and kind. She was so supportive and knowledgeable throughout the planning process. While the venue hosts multiple events in one weekend, the staff at Sonesta made my husband and I feel like we were the most important people of the weekend as well as all of our family and friends. They went out of their way to ensure that things went just right for everyone. I cannot say enough about Sonesta Resort. We were out of town guests and we have family and friends planning future visits back at Sonesta already! Everything about our wedding weekend at Sonesta was absolutely PERFECT!! Thank you!