Arequipa, also known as the "White City", is the second city of Peru by population of the Department of Arequipa. It is located in the south of the country, bordering on the north with Ayacucho, Apurimac and Cusco, on the east with Puno, on the southeast with Moquegua, on the west with the Pacific Ocean and on the northwest with Ica. Arequipa is the second most populated city in Peru (1,256,002).

Its historic center extends over an area of 332 hectares, having been declared by UNESCO as «Cultural Patrimony of Humanity», on 2 December 2000.

Arequipa is also the capital of the colonial era of the Arequipa Region of Peru. Framed by 3 volcanoes, it is full of baroque buildings built with sillar, a white volcanic stone.  Its historic center is anchored by the Plaza de Armas, a majestic main square flanked on its north by the neoclassical cathedral of the seventeenth century, which houses a museum exhibiting religious objects and works of art.


  • 995 km | 618 mi from Lima
  • 491 km | 305 mi from Cusco
  • 292 km | 181 mi from Puno


City Center

The Sonesta Arequipa is located in the first Financial Center of the City (City Center), the first and largest Business Center in the south of the country, built under the highest and most demanding standards of the global market, advanced technology and sophisticated design, comprising 2 21-story towers, 2 levels of parking and retail area. City Center Arequipa, besides having the new Sonesta Hotel Arequipa, will also include financial and insurance entities, specialized offices, restaurants, postgraduate study center, spa, among others.